company. Officers and men also attend from two to three weeks naval training annually at the naval bases at Halifax or Esquimalt, or at sea in H.M.C. or H.M ships.

Officers and men who can obtain the necessary leave of absence are permitted to perform a maximum of four months voluntary service during each period of enrolment, and a large number have availed themselves of this opportunity of gaining extended naval experience under sea-going conditions. The period of enrolment and of re-enrolment in the R.C.N.V.R. is three years.

Subsection 2.—Military Forces.

The Militia of Canada is constituted by the Militia Act. The Active Militia is divided into the Permanent and the Non-Permanent Militia.

Permanent Militia.—The Permanent Force consists of the following units:—

Cavalry.—The Royal Canadian Dragoons; Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadians).

Artillery.—The Royal Canadian Horse Artillery Brigade ("A", "B" and "C" Batteries); Royal Canadian Artillery (Nos. 1, 2 and 5 Heavy Batteries and No. 3 Medium Battery).

Engineers.—Royal Canadian Engineers (13 detachments and 1 field company).

Signals.—The Royal Canadian Corps of Signals.

Infantry.—The Royal Canadian Regiment; Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry; The Royal 22e Regiment (a French-Canadian regiment).

Army Service Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Service Corps (12 detachments).

Medical Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps (12 detachments).

Veterinary Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Veterinary Corps (8 detachments).

Ordnance Corps.—The Royal Canadian Ordnance Corps (12 detachments). Pay Corps.—The Royal Canadian Army Pay Corps (12 detachments).

Military Clerks.—The Corps of Military Staff Clerks (12 detachments).

The strength of the Permanent Active Militia is limited by the Amending Act of 1919 to 10,000, but at present the limited establishment is less than 3,800.

Schools of Instruction.—The Canadian Small Arms School is the only school which is an independent unit of the Permanent Force, but at all stations of the Permanent Force in Canada Royal Schools of Instruction are conducted.

Non-Permanent Militia.—The Non-Permanent Militia consists of:—

```
35 Regiments of Cavalry and Mounted Rifles.
```

⁷⁰ Field Batteries, Canadian Artillery.

¹⁶ Medium Batteries, Canadian Artillery.

¹¹ Heavy Batteries, Canadian Artillery.

³ Anti-Aircraft Sections, Canadian Artillery.

¹⁵ Field Companies of Engineers.

² Fortress Companies of Engineers.

⁷ Field Troops of Engineers.

¹⁰ Divisional Signals.

² Fortress Signal Companies.

⁷ Signal Troops.

²² Contingents, Canadian Officers' Training Corps.

¹²³ Battalions of Infantry.

¹⁵ Machine Gun Units.

¹² Divisional Canadian Army Service Corps.

⁵¹ Units of the Canadian Army Medical Corps.

¹¹ Detachments of the Canadian Dental Corps.

¹¹ Detachments of the Canadian Army Veterinary Corps.

¹¹ Detachments of the Canadian Ordnance Corps.

¹² Detachments and 1 Base Post Office of the Canadian Postal Corps.